Fraunhofer in Aachen

Fraunhofer Institute for Laser Technology ILT

With more than 400 employees the Fraunhofer Institute for Laser Technology ILT is worldwide one of the most important development and contract research institutes of its specific field. The activities cover a wide range of areas such as the development of new laser beam sources and components, precise laser based metrology, testing technology and industrial laser processes. This includes laser cutting, caving, drilling, welding and soldering as well as surface treatment, micro processing and rapid manufacturing.

Furthermore, the Fraunhofer ILT is engaged in laser plant technology, process control, modelling and simulation as well as in the entire system technology. We offer feasibility studies, process qualification and laser integration in customer specific manufacturing lines.

Fraunhofer Institute for Molecular Biology and Applied Ecology IME

The Fraunhofer Institute for Molecular Biology and Applied Ecology IME conducts research in the field of applied life sciences from a molecular level to entire ecosystems. Our interdisciplinary organization and laboratories with most recent equipment including GMP facilities and complex facilities for environmental simulations allow a wide spectrum of research and development services in the division Molecular Biology and Applied Ecology.

The institute has around 480 employees working at the locations Schmallenberg, Aachen, Münster, Gießen, Frankfurt/Main and Hamburg. We have close ties with the Institute of Molecular Biotechnology of the RWTH Aachen University, the Department of Biology and Biotechnology of Plants of the University Münster, the Department of Applied Entomology of the University Gießen and the Institute for Clinical Pharmacology of the Goethe University Frankfurt/Main in terms of personnel and areas of work.

The Fraunhofer Center for Systems Biotechnology (CSB) in Santiago de Chile secures a direct presence of the Fraunhofer IME on the South American market.

Within the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft we have close co-operations with the other institutes of the Fraunhofer Group for Life Sciences, the Fraunhofer Alliances Food Chain Management and Big Data, with the Fraunhofer Sustainability Network as well as other Fraunhofer institutes.

Fraunhofer Institute for Production Technology IPT

The Fraunhofer IPT combines knowledge and experience in all fields of production technology. In the areas of process technology, production machines, mechatronics, production metrology and quality as well as technology management, the institute offers partners and customers tailor made solutions and immediately actionable results for modern production.

The Fraunhofer IPT's employees understand the production process not as a mere sequence of isolated events. Their work always takes into account the many ways in which the individual elements of the process chain are interconnected and interlinked, integrating the early and advanced stages of product development with the planning and preproduction processes as well as the production itself and the subsequent assembly into a single functional whole.
 
The Fraunhofer IPT's business units combine the skills and the knowledge of the individual departments, the Fraunhofer CMI and its partner institute at the RWTH Aachen University, the Laboratory for Machine Tools and Production Engineering WZL. This interdisciplinary view allows the Fraunhofer IPT to approach and develop solutions which require thinking beyond the narrow confines of any particular discipline.

Fraunhofer in Aachen

Fraunhofer-Institut für Lasertechnik ILT

Mit über 400 Mitarbeitern zählt das Fraunhofer-Institut für Lasertechnik ILT weltweit zu den bedeutendsten Auftragsforschungs- und Entwicklungsinstituten im Bereich Laserentwicklung und Laseranwendung. Unsere Kernkompetenzen umfassen die Entwicklung neuer Laserstrahlquellen und -komponenten, Lasermess- und Prüftechnik sowie Laserfertigungstechnik. Hierzu zählt beispielsweise das Schneiden, Abtragen, Bohren, Schweißen und Löten sowie das Oberflächenvergüten, die Mikrofertigung und das Rapid Manufacturing.

Übergreifend befasst sich das Fraunhofer ILT mit Laseranlagentechnik, Prozessüberwachung und -regelung, Modellierung sowie der gesamten Systemtechnik. Unser Leistungsspektrum reicht von Machbarkeitsstudien über Verfahrensqualifizierungen bis hin zur kundenspezifischen Integration von Laserprozessen in die jeweilige Fertigungslinie. 

Fraunhofer-Institut für Molekularbiologie und Angewandte Oekologie IME

Das Fraunhofer-Institut für Molekularbiologie und Angewandte Oekologie IME betreibt angewandte Lebenswissenschaften vom Molekül bis zum Ökosystem. Unsere interdisziplinäre Organisation und unsere Labore mit modernster Ausstattung einschließlich GMP-Anlagen und komplexen Umweltsimulationsanlagen ermöglichen ein breites Forschungs- und Dienstleistungsangebot in den beiden Institutsbereichen Molekularbiologie und Angewandte Ökologie.

Das Institut beschäftigt zurzeit zirka 480 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter an seinen Standorten Schmallenberg, Aachen, Gießen, Münster, Frankfurt/Main und Hamburg. Es ist personell und inhaltlich eng verknüpft mit dem Institut für Molekulare Biotechnologie der RWTH Aachen University, dem Institut für Biologie und Biotechnologie der Pflanzen der Universität Münster, dem Institut für Angewandte Entomologie der Universität Gießen und dem Institut für Klinische Pharmakologie der Goethe Universität Frankfurt/Main.

Fraunhofer-Institut für Produktionstechnologie IPT

Das Fraunhofer-Institut für Produktionstechnologie IPT vereint langjähriges Wissen und Erfahrung aus allen Gebieten der Produktionstechnik. In den Bereichen Prozesstechnologie, Produktionsmaschinen, Mechatronik, Produktionsqualität und Messtechnik sowie Technologiemanagement bietet das Fraunhofer IPT seinen Kunden und Projektpartnern angewandte Forschung und Entwicklung mit unmittelbar umsetzbaren Ergebnissen.

Im Mittelpunkt steht dabei nicht nur die Produktion in ihren einzelnen Schritten, sondern vor allem die Gesamtheit ihrer Prozesse und der Verbindungen zwischen den jeweiligen Gliedern der Prozesskette – von der Vor- und Produktentwicklung über die Produktionsvorbereitung und die Fertigung bis zur Montage. Auf diese Weise entstehen sowohl hoch spezialisierte Einzeltechnologien als auch individuell an den Kunden angepasste Systemlösungen für die Produktion.

In seinen Geschäftsfeldern bündelt das Fraunhofer IPT die Kompetenzen seiner Abteilungen sowie des Fraunhofer CMI und seines Partnerinstituts an der RWTH Aachen, des Werkzeugmaschinenlabors WZL. Diese interdisziplinäre Sicht aus der Perspektive der Industrie versetzt die rund 450 Mitarbeiter des Instituts in die Lage, Aufgaben auch über die Grenzen eng gesteckter Arbeitsgebiete hinaus zu lösen.